✅ Fact-checked    

Curfew imposed in Washington and 40 other major US cities

A curfew has been imposed in the US capital and four dozen major cities in connection with the riots that broke out after the death of a black man in Minneapolis while being detained by police.

Residents of American cities received relevant alerts.

“Washington Mayor Muriel Bowser ordered the imposition of curfews in the District of Columbia from 11:00 p.m. Sunday, May 31, to 06:00 a.m. on Monday, June 1. She also brought in the National Guard of the county to support the Metropolitan Police Department,” the statement said on mobile phones received by everyone in the US capital.

In addition, curfews have also been announced in at least 40 major cities in the United States with additional law enforcement. These measures have been introduced, including in Minneapolis, Los Angeles, Denver, Miami, Atlanta, Chicago, Indianapolis, Detroit, Kansas City, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Philadelphia, Seattle, Dallas.

At the same time, in the states of Arizona, Texas, Virginia, a state of emergency was introduced.

It was reported that protests in the United States, which quickly grew into riots with pogroms of shops, broke out due to the death on May 25 of the 46-year-old African American George Floyd. The man died shortly after being detained by the police.

Since Thursday, police have arrested nearly 1,400 people in 17 cities across the country. Seven states and the Metropolitan District of Columbia have requested US National Guard assistance in riot control.

Google News
Views: 318

Add a comment!

Your name:
Your Email:
  • bowtiesmilelaughingblushsmileyrelaxedsmirk
The code:
Кликните на изображение чтобы обновить код, если он неразборчив
Enter a code: