✅ Fact-checked    

China has imposed sanctions against American politicians

The Chinese government is imposing sanctions against seven US politicians and organizations, including former Commerce Secretary Wilbur Ross, because of their “erroneous actions” against Hong Kong. This is reported by the Chinese Foreign Ministry.

“In response to the erroneous actions of the American side, China decided to impose mirror sanctions. In accordance with the law “On Countering anti — Chinese Sanctions”, China imposes sanctions against seven US individuals and organizations,” the report says.

The sanctions list included: former US Secretary of Commerce Wilbur Ross, chairman of the US-China Commission for Monitoring the Economy and Security of the US Congress Caroline Bartholomew, former director of the office of the Executive Committee on China of the US Congress Jonathan Stivers, Chairman of the US National Democratic Institute Kim Do Yun, Plenipotentiary representative of the International Republican Institute in Hong Kong Adam King, director of the Department for China of Human Rights Watch Sophie Richardson and the Hong Kong Democracy Committee.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of China stressed that Hong Kong belongs to the Chinese side and all issues related to it are an internal matter of the state.

“Any external forces that try to interfere in the affairs of Hong Kong are like ants shaking a tree, they overestimate their strength,” the Foreign Ministry noted.

Earlier, the official representative of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the People's Republic of China, Zhao Lijian, said that the Chinese authorities are considering the possibility of adopting a bill on countermeasures in response to the sanctions of the United States and other states.

Views: 106


Add a comment!